Author Topic: Recipes for Homemade Salad Dressings  (Read 44303 times)

Offline healthyinOhio

• Guru
  • Happily Married for 12 years and proud mama of 2.
Recipes for Homemade Salad Dressings
« on: May 19, 2006, 06:33:42 AM »
Does anyone have a wonderful tried and true salad dressing?  I have just one basic dressing with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and salt.  But I have been making that for about four years, now and I am sick of it! :)  Any new ideas would be appreciated.  I like absolutely everything, except olives.  Thanks!

Offline 4myhoonie

• Guru
Re: Recipes for Homemade Salad Dressings
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2006, 06:52:14 AM »
i have several favorites, one is similar to yours, but maybe a little change would be nice  :)

italian vinegrette--adjust spices according to taste

1/2 c. red wine vin.
1 1/2 c. oil
2 lg. cloves pressed garlic
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 to 1/2 tsp. pepper
1 T minced parsley
1 tsp. dry mustard powder
1/2 tsp. basil or oregano

THIS IS MY FAV SALAD DRESSING!!  ;D

1 lg. clove garlic pressed
3/4 c. oil (or less if you like)
3 T. red wine vinegar
1 tsp. worchestire (sp?) sauce
1/4 tsp. dry mustard powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 T. parmesan cheese
sometimes i also add oregano or basil to this

:D hope these help! 
"Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle."

Offline mexmarr

• Master
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2006, 06:52:35 AM »
I was just planning to start a new topic to see if anybody had a homeade alternative to Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing.  It fits here, though.   I have been eating more and more raw salads, and adding more and more veggie to them, little by little.    Only problem is I am counteracting it with more and more ranch......

One tip for those who are not sure they are ready to give up their ranch.  I put a spoon of plain yougurt, and them only use half the amount of dressing.  It is a little more healthy, coats your salad, and the ranch flavor still comes through.