Author Topic: How old is too old for peri menopause?  (Read 2698 times)

Offline Temple

• Wide Eyed
How old is too old for peri menopause?
« on: September 21, 2012, 06:01:51 AM »
Hi all,

Newbie here. I am trying to diagnose myself because I am not getting anywhere with conventional doctors, and the alternative ones do not take health insurance, at least I haven't found one.

I have the symptoms of peri menopause. I am 57, will be 58 in a few months. I had regular periods up until age 53, then they started to get a little closer together (every 28 days instead of 35, which had been normal for me all my life). They have been irregular for the past two years (I might skip a month or get two in one month). They are not heavy. Never have been.

This was all fairly manageable until about six months ago. I have always had pretty bad PMS, which i could live with because it would go away once my period started. Now the PMS is a problem because my cycles are so short I am either having PMS or a period. The PMS symptoms are the usual with added breast tenderness and swelling.  Also, more severe water retention, weight gain.

I started reading both Louise Gittleman and Dr. John Lee's books. I fit the profile of peri menopause with the exception of my age. I should be well past menopause by now. My question is this, should I follow their suggestions for 'peri zappers' and estrogen dominance even if the cutoff seems to be age 55?

Offline DHW

• Adept
Re: How old is too old for peri menopause?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2012, 02:46:06 PM »