Natural Health > Training & Development

high needs/unhappy baby

(1/2) > >>

aribari:
my two month old (three months next week) is very fussy and sort of seems unhappy most of the time. this is my first baby, so i'm still learning to distinguish the cries. i can't tell if he's in pain, but i don't think so.

we began sleep training about three weeks ago and it actually went well; he'd sleep for about 5-6 hours and only wake up once in the night for a feeding. during the day he would take three naps- a three hour one in the morning, a two hour nap after lunch, and a one to one and a half hour nap in the early evening. we have a bedtime routine that we follow every night to help him make the association that it's time to wind down and go to sleep. most nights he goes down with little to no crying.

for about the past two weeks, though, he's been getting up two to three times a night, and he's not taking very good naps during the day. he'll sleep for about thirty minutes, then wake up crying which is an indication to me that he's still tired; when he wakes up cooing and talking to himself, i know he's had good rest. if i try to let him cry it out, he will eventually fall asleep, but then wake up crying about twenty to thirty minutes later.

i exclusively breastfeed, so i thought that something in my diet was making gassy. i cut out dairy, wheat, cruciferous veggies, beans, and beef. it hasn't made a huge difference, but i'm still trying.

it's very frustrating because i feel like i'm missing something, like i'm doing something wrong. after getting up from a nap he'll seem content for about 15-20 mins then get cranky; even holding him isn't always enough. i've given him Bach's Rescue Remedy for kids and sometimes it helps. lavender oil helps keep him calm during pre-sleep routines.

just wondering if anyone else had this experience, or perhaps some insight? thank you so much!

Precious:
That certainly sounds frustrating.

A couple of questions about naptime/bedtime: