Author Topic: mucus and blood in stool in a 9 mo old  (Read 2935 times)

Offline railroaderswife

• Adept
mucus and blood in stool in a 9 mo old
« on: October 12, 2006, 05:54:34 AM »
What can be done for this? Dr. said to withhold food 24 to 48 hrs. Don't know what it is yet. Could be parasite or bacteria. Any suggestions?
Wife to Glenn and Mama to 4 (so far) rambunctious (just sometimes) kids.

Offline railroaderswife

• Adept
Re: mucus and blood in stool in a 9 mo old
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2006, 06:12:15 AM »
My friends baby is screaming from hunger. He wants to go to sleep but is hungry. What about a garlic enema?

Offline SC

• Guru
  • Ephesians 5:2
    • Lexington Slim
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2006, 06:26:14 AM »
If you must withhold food, I would ask about liquids and let him/her have all that is permissable.
I'm no doctor . . .             I'm not even a Post hole Digger! ;)
See what works for me at LexingtonSlim.com

Offline Gabe Rising

• Administrator
  • Master
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2006, 06:33:24 AM »
Good night... this is crazy. Go to a healthfood store and buy a probiotic... any probiotic! Then add a capsule to milk... breast milk if you can get it... from a friend if not from yourself, otherwise powdered milk is probably best. Feed him on that for a while.

Withhold food? I am awe struck. Maybe you should ask about surgery... just kidding, really, just kidding.

Also, it will help you get a better answer to give more information about this kid. How long did he nurse, was he on formula, if and when he was vaccinated, has he been on anti-biotics, other medications, other hospital interventions, etc.

--gabe

Offline railroaderswife

• Adept
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2006, 06:41:54 AM »