Author Topic: Iritis and 12 weeks pregnant--ANY advice??  (Read 6713 times)

Offline Cycami

• Learning
Iritis and 12 weeks pregnant--ANY advice??
« on: April 02, 2011, 10:06:38 AM »
Hi. I am 12 weeks pregnant and was diagnosed with severe iritis in both eyes 2 weeks ago. My biggest concern is the meds (the doctor put me on 3 category C meds he said were necessary to prevent blindness at this point), and I am trying to decide what my options are.

(I have shortened this to eliminate the long history and will try to post updates in case this the info might be helpful to someone else :))
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 03:59:43 PM by Cycami »

Offline Precious

• Adept
Re: Iritis and 12 weeks pregnant--ANY advice??
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2011, 02:54:08 PM »
Your situation sounds pretty desperate.  I can understand your frustration.  I am not an expert when it comes to iritis nor have I ever had it, but I am really good at looking up information! :)  Believe it or not, ehow.com had some advice:
   1.  Bathe the closed eye with Epsom salt diluted with warm water several times daily to relieve pain.
   2   Make a compress for the eye with Epsom salt by combining Epsom salt with enough water to make a paste, spreading it over the closed eyelid and applying a warm towel over the top. Leave the compress on for about 20 minutes, then remove the compress and wash the area thoroughly.
   3   Apply a small amount of the herb arnica to the closed eyelids, or make a warm compress with it. Arnica is renowned for its healing and pain-reliving qualities, according to AnniesRemedy.com. You can find it in a cream at your local health foods store. Be sure to test for any allergic reaction first by applying a small amount to the inside of your forearm and waiting 24 hours to check for irritation.