Author Topic: Daughter is having a pain in her neck  (Read 8764 times)

Offline bylerbunch

• Learning
Daughter is having a pain in her neck
« on: February 11, 2007, 12:10:19 PM »
I'm new to herbal medicine, and this is my very first post!  I have a quick question for now...

My 9 yr. old dd suddenly has a pain in the back of her neck!  She is in so much pain she is crying.  Normally, I would treat with tylenol, but I would like to try something natural if you have any suggestions.  Right now she is taking a warm shower.  I thought maybe the heat would help her to feel better.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!

Beth
Honored Wife of Dean and Blessed Mama of 8 awesome children!

Offline kerimae

• Learning
    • A Happy Home Media
Re: Daughter is having a pain in her neck
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2007, 07:54:42 PM »
I would find a recommended chiropractor first.  Did she have any falls or accidents lately?  Is she going to school and carrying a large backpack?  In the meantime, use ice instead of heat.  Good luck!

Keri
Happy help meet and mama of many, including one with Down Syndrome, looking to joyfully serve the Lord out of a happy home.

Offline Pitty-Pat

• Adept
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2007, 07:59:04 PM »
Does it hurt when she looks down....chin to chest?  Neck pains make me nervous because of the possibility of menengitis.  How's she doing?
"...it [feminism] is mixed up with a muddled idea that women are free when they serve their employers but slaves when they help their husbands." - G.K. Chesterton

Offline bylerbunch

• Learning
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2007, 02:35:21 AM »
Thanks for your replies!  She is doing much better -- I think she may have just pinched a nerve.  She was sitting for a long time as her older sister taught her how to knit, and I think having her neck in one position for a long time caused the pain.  The heat did help, but I'll remember ice for the next time!

Beth

Offline herbalmom

• Guru