Author Topic: Infantile Seizures  (Read 8313 times)

Offline CTmom

• Wide Eyed
Infantile Seizures
« on: July 12, 2009, 02:03:10 AM »
I'm new to your wonderful site. It was recommended to me by a dear Christian friend. My 2 month old baby has been behaving "oddly" for 4-5 weeks now (not making consistant eye contact, newborn reflexes not so great, jerky spasms, lots of crying, lots of reflux). I gave up dairy, thinking it was causing her a problem with my milk. I am taking her to the Dr. tomorrow to discuss delaying her vaccinations because I'm concerned about neurological development. Last night I stumbled upon some YouTube movies of infants having seizures and was shocked to see how much they look like my dear daughter. I am so distraught over this. She is our third child and I am overwhelmed with what the future might hold for us. My faith is really shaken and I know I'm getting way ahead of myself. Does anyone have experience with something like this? Please pray for us.

Offline kings daughter

• Learning
Re: Infantile Seizures
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 04:26:14 AM »
CTmom
I have a one week old newborn and I am so concerned that my baby is having seizures too.  I feel the same as you do.  There are some seizures that are considered normal for the newborn and the child will not have any future problems.  I'm praying this would be the case.  How is your baby while she is awake?  Have you discussed this with your doc. at other visits?  Please let me know what you find out.

Offline CTmom

• Wide Eyed
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 06:30:42 AM »
She has seizures when she's awake too. She also has a very weak cry a lot of the time and a kind of fake little cough. Also gets hiccups constantly. She has a very difficult time sleeping during the day. A couple days ago she didn't sleep more than 15 mins. at a time all day long! She constantly jerks herself awake.