Author Topic: How Much Good Fat?  (Read 12536 times)

Offline Jemima

• Adept
How Much Good Fat?
« on: November 14, 2008, 11:23:38 AM »
I'm new to the "good fats" way of eating, and I'm wondering if anyone can tell me how much we need.  Or, to get more specific, how much for a nursing mother?

I've noticed a lot of comments in passing about "getting enough fats", but how much is enough?  I've been trying to incorporate them into my diet more, going heavy on the butter, cream, not picking all the fat out meat, and adding some EVCO in occasionally. I've been taking an Omega 3 supplement for a couple months also. However I can't see any great change in anything. So I wonder, am I getting enough?

Any thoughts on how much we should be getting, or is this question addressed on a different thread?

TIA!

Offline floydian

• Master
Re: How Much Good Fat?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2008, 12:48:11 PM »
Honestly, I just read your question on the breast feeding thread, and I don't know how much.  I did answer that you might want to add more in, but I don't know how much.

I know that when I was pregant, I cut out most of the fat from my diet thinking I was doing a good thing.  Uh...no.

I didn't sleep as well, and um....my desire for intimacy with my dh went to almost nil, whereas it had been great.  I added in more butter, cheese, and coconut oil, and things improved drasitcally.

I have had good success with cod liver oil.  I like the gel caps because there is no taste.

We use cream, sour cream, whole non-homogized milk, butter.  We also like to dip our bread in olive oil.

Cod liver oil in my kids has made a huge difference.