Author Topic: More Kefir  (Read 3761 times)

Offline hacinta

• Learning
More Kefir
« on: October 07, 2010, 05:57:51 AM »
Hi all, I am a newbie. I just registered this morning, I have spent the last couple of days reading the already existing Kefir thread, yes all 21 pages. I am starting a new thread since there is not an option to post a reply on the existing thread. (I am new so I could have missed something)
What a fountain of information, thanks to all of you, I am patiently awaiting the arrival of my kefir grains, today, hopefully.  I did get mine on e bay for $5.00, shipping cost really. I have already used the store brand packets, this was a good way to start and get familiarized with the process, and accustomed to the taste. Also get my husband in tune with it, he thinks I am on a whacky health food tangent again. Although he like yogurt and especially cheese. I am not sure how he thinks its made, he probably doesn't really think about it.

I did read the blog, the visual really helped. What mostly I wanted to comment on was the blender usage. It seems post after post complained about chunks and whey. This totally makes sense to me, whip it all together for a smoothie, it will be all emulsified and creamy. Nice a easy to drink.

This morning I made a yummy, canned pineapple tidbits, banana, and of course keifer along with some grated coconut, all in the blender. Wow was it good, and very filling. I have noticed since I have been drinking kefir, I am not as hungry.
I don't seem to have the cravings for junkie food.

Thanks again for all the info

Offline hacinta

• Learning
Re: More Kefir
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2010, 04:39:46 PM »
Got my grains today !!! Yipeee from the mail box to the mason jar. they had a smell but not a strong yeasty smell. the E bay-er I got them from said her kefir is sweet. She also communicated well with directions. I hope they do well. Mine were fairly inexpensive, if anybody wants her info I will be more than happy to direct yiu.