Author Topic: Making Kefir: Recipes, Tips & Tricks  (Read 257273 times)

Offline natural

• Adept
Making Kefir: Recipes, Tips & Tricks
« on: May 23, 2006, 08:31:18 AM »
Okay, I went to the health food store today and she didn't have a kefir starter. So I bought a bottle of Kefir. Could I use a 1/4 cup of that as a starter? It is vanilla flavored that id the closest she had to plain. How exactly would I do that?

Sandra
4 yo Maciah: Mamma I am scared the wind is howling.
Me: Go to sleep Jesus will protect you.
4 yo Maciah: (stretching his chin to chest) But, but I can't see Jesus my head can't reach into my heart.

Offline Maria/NHM

• Adept
    • My Blog
Re: Making Kefir: Recipes, Tips & Tricks
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2006, 09:28:32 AM »
I'm just getting started so I'm no expert on kefir but everything I've read says you need to have the kefir grains. I just ordered some off ebay. I got one cup of grains for $10.00.

Maria
My Blog
http://naturallyhealthymommy.blogspot.com/
Learning and sharing about nutrition and herbs
My user name used to be Ella :)

Offline natural

• Adept
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2006, 10:33:22 AM »
Okay, i am confused...I see what you are talking about on Ebay it looks like big hunks of cottage cheese...but I found some other packet type kefir starter mixes on another site yourgormet.com and amazon...these look like a powder starter...What is the difference...I would almost rather buy from someone with the packets for sanitary purposes ??? :-\

Thanks and let me know how yours turns out when you get it from ebay seller.

--Sister Sandra
4 yo Maciah: (stretching his chin to chest) But, but I can't see Jesus my head can't reach into my heart.

Offline Maria/NHM

• Adept
    • My Blog
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2006, 10:58:31 AM »