Remedies & Therapies > Medicinal Herbs & Oils

I have inherited a bounty of herbs!

(1/2) > >>

KatieMac:
I'm pretty new to herbal medicine. I have never made a tincture in my life, but I want to start. My friend had a yard sale and she sold me a huge box of herbs for $6! They are all from The Bulk Herb Store, most still in their original bag. I don't know what to do with any of them except Red Raspberry Leaf. I'm sure I'll get a book but in the meantime can you folks give me some pointers? Here is what I have:

2 lbs Red Raspberry Leaf ( I drank a ton of this tea when I was pregnant and I'll probably drink it to regulate my cycles but I do get sick of drinking tea. If I made this into a tincture would that be a good idea?)

1 lb Oat Straw

2 lbs Alfalfa

1/2 lb Pau D' Arco

1 Lb Shavegrass

healthybratt:
You can make your own liquid chlorophyll with the Alfalfa and some Vodka.  Good for internal cleansing and BO.   ;D

KatieMac:
Cool! That is something I can add to smoothies, right? I seem to remember someone I know doing that. I read at the Bulk Herb Store website that they just add it to soups, casseroles almost like seasoning just to get the the nutritional benefits.

I'm really excited...I found a few patches of plantain in my yard and I'm going to go pick them before my husband mows the lawn. I'm going to dry them and try to make the plantain astringent made with apple cider vinegar.

I really just need to get down the library and get an herb book. They don't have How to Herb unfortunately (or Nourishing Traditions!) I think I might need to speak with someone...

amazonmama2five:
Hey Gals!