Remedies & Therapies > Medicinal Herbs & Oils

Help! My tea has floaties.....

(1/3) > >>

mexmarr:
I recently got my order of Mama's Raspberry Brew from the Bulk Herb Store.  I like the tea  real well, but it is my first time dealing with loose tea, not in a tea bag.  I put the tea in a tea ball to seep, but my tea is just SOOO full of floaties (little pieces of the herbs).

I am tolerating it right now, but when I am pregnant, floaties make me throw up.  So I want to fix it before then!  :-\

Any suggestions, or is that just the way it has to be???

Chickory Chick:
For Christmas I asked my husband to get me a "tea maker", which he did and I love it.  It is a Sunbeam Tea Drop and makes about 4 cups (you can make less and adjust the setting to weak, medium and strong).  It enables me to use both my lose tea and tea bags and I dont have any floaties (occassionally one or two strays). 

SC:
Close your eyes and think of them as fiber -- an important part of everyone's diet! 8)

AND the green tea tastes so good that I leave it out of the tea ball in my cup. It's like getting a nice little serving of greens! Oh, and the Jasmine Green tea . . . YUMMY little flowers.

I think I'll go have some now!  ;D

healthyinOhio:
Okay, this may be gross, too, but this is what I do.  I take my husband's old ragetty t-shirts and store them in a cupboard.  I line a small strainer with a patch of the t-shirt cut out.  I usually cut on contact, but you could cut up a bunch to have them ready on hand.  Then, I use the t-shirt as a strain.  I am sure you could use cheesecloth, but it is so expensive.  Old t-shirts are free.  Gross, but free ;D

StephTallent:
We were given a big, nice coffee maker when we got married.  Hubby really loathes coffee (Taste, smell everything!) and for his sake and the sake of my health I never used it to make coffee.