Remedies & Therapies > Medicinal Herbs & Oils

Mullein Recipes for Croup, Cough, Congestion

(1/9) > >>

littlemama24:
Just a note: I had done some mullein research when a family member had croup and read somewhere that it is one of the most beneficial herbs for dealing with croup.  I made a cough syrup of it and gave it to the parent of the child the day I found out what his "diagnosis" was.  I am not sure if they used it or not or it's effectiveness.  I have used the same syrup recipe when my oldest gets a barky cough and it always works wonders - along with cool mist vaporizer and goot, etc.

strawberry:
I'm new to the "tincture/syrup/ointment" making, but when a "barky cough" goes through my house, my 12 mo daughter keeps it for at least a month (she has since 6mo).  Could you explain how you use the mullein to make a syrup?

Thanks.

lotsagirls:
When mine get a croupy cough, I use a warm onion compress on their chests.  Just slice some onions and put them in a towel.  Put the towel on their chest, cover with a hot water bottle (or heating pad) and a blanket.

I also give them an onion cough syrup.  Put some onion slices in honey and let them sit for a couple of hours.  A teaspoon of this gets rid of a cough immediately in our experience.

littlemama24:

--- Quote from: strawberry on November 16, 2007, 12:12:50 PM ---I'm new to the "tincture/syrup/ointment" making, but when a "barky cough" goes through my house, my 12 mo daughter keeps it for at least a month (she has since 6mo).  Could you explain how you use the mullein to make a syrup?

Thanks.

--- End quote ---

here you go...
Excerpt from: Mullein, Nature's Best Wipe
by Debi Pearl   2000