Author Topic: Kombucha Variations: Teas & Flavors That Do & Don't Work  (Read 51791 times)

Offline ForeverGirl

• Global Moderator
  • Master
  • BoogBug
    • WellTellMe
Re: Kombucha Variations: Teas & Flavors That Do & Don't Work
« Reply #30 on: November 11, 2006, 06:09:33 AM »
No problem, this is interesting to me too, and we are refining the kombucha studies.  :)  I never liked teas with oil in them anyway, so I don't usually buy them. But I do love herbal teas. So it was just luck on my part. But I've been brewing for 8 months successfully, so I'm sure herbal teas are good to use!

-Rebekah

PS: I'd love to hear what kind of flavors and teas other ladies try and how the brews turn out!
Honey Sunny in complete exasperation:
"JOE!!! You DOUGHNUT COCONUT COCONUT COCONUT!!!"

Offline healthybratt

• administrator
  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • administrator
    • wouldn't you like to know?
« Reply #31 on: November 11, 2006, 06:14:50 AM »
I'm curious to know if the herbal teas would retain their original benefits after being cultured?

For instance, would red rasp leaf still be good for mother's milk, hormone problems and tummy aches?  Would catnip still make you sleepy?  Would peppermint still taste good and soothe and upset tummy(peppermint might not work because of oils ???).  Does ginger still help with motion sickness and build the immune system?

I've actually made the ginger stuff and it upsets my stomach, whereas the ginger tea made on the stove soothes a tummy ache, but this is just my experience.  Noone else in the house has complained of a tummy ache after drinking it.  Hubby said, he actually thought it helped a clogged sinus.

Also how, do you know which herbs have oils and which ones don't?
« Last Edit: November 11, 2006, 06:16:25 AM by healthybratt »
  My favorite herb book!!

Offline leslieincali

• Adept
« Reply #32 on: November 11, 2006, 09:20:00 AM »