Author Topic: Eclampsia & Preeclampsia: Symptoms and Preventitave Cures  (Read 119923 times)

Offline Pennie

• Master
Eclampsia & Preeclampsia: Symptoms and Preventitave Cures
« on: July 26, 2006, 03:45:51 AM »
 Does anyone have any info on preeclampsia help or hinders? I have a friend who just delivered @ 29 wks and is petrified to try again. I don't have much info as I'm not good at research.
My midwife said it is a lack of protein. they recommend 60-80 grams a day.  I think that I am remembering that correctly.  I had severe toxemia with my first and I had a dr. that didn't tell me ANYTHING and I was clueless and didn't know I should study and search for  myself.   :(
« Last Edit: July 26, 2006, 05:42:07 AM by healthybratt »

Offline dara

• Master
Re: Eclampsia & Preeclampsia: Symptoms and Preventitave Cures
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2006, 03:51:41 AM »
And water- a gallon a day, plus the protien Pennie mentioned. Mamasboys said her midwife recomended eating protien every 2 hours. And cut back on the refined sugars and carbs. Sorry that's not documented. It is the verbal advise of midwives I have spoken with.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2006, 05:42:17 AM by healthybratt »
"Write your hurts in the sand
and grave your blessings in stone."

Offline healthyinOhio

• Guru
  • Happily Married for 12 years and proud mama of 2.
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2006, 03:55:20 AM »
From prescription of natural healing:

Preeclampsia is a pregnancy complication characterized by high blood pressure, edema, and an excess of protein in the urine.  The cause is not known, but if you suffered from it once, you are more likely to get it again.  It was once thought that eclampsia and preeclampsia were a result of toxemia- the presence of some sort of toxin or poison in the bloodstream-but it is now known that this is not the case.  If you develop any of the symptoms of preeclamsia, you must be monitored constantly by your health care provider.

Supplements: