Hi Patti, However, you didn't answer my other question, which I'm really worried about. How do you find out what has gluten, other than the obvious stuff? Is there a list out there of things or of brands that are gluten free, or have gluten in them?
I'm sorry. I knew I missed one last night but when I went looking for it I couldn't find it again.
Most gluten free stuff will say, "gluten free." Otherwise, anything with barley (barley malt), oats (unless specifically GF oats), spelt, rye, and wheat all have gluten. So any forms of those things in ingredients will have gluten. If you haven't tried Azure Standard for your shopping I highly recommend it. From a cost standpoint they are hard to beat for healthy food. You can find them at www.azurestandard.com
. You'll have to come up with a sign in to see prices but there's no charge for that and they don't email if you sign up just to look. Matter of fact, they do no advertising via email so you don't have to worry about that. They truck ship to a local drop point and you pick up from there. Delivery is usually every two weeks or so.
If you have specific foods you are trying to replace I might be able to give you brands names also - feel free to ask.
Any canned soups have gluten in them (they use flour to thicken them). All packaged spice mixes. That's all I can think of off the top of my head. Just really read labels.
You know that saying that when you grocery shop it should always be in the outer ring of the store? Well, that is totally true when it comes to a GF diet. I almost never shop the inner aisles. Maybe for ketchup and mustard or things like that, but basically, the only place I can shop is the entire outer ring - if that helps at all.
It's early here and I just woke up so let me see if I can come up with more stuff that might not be obvious as my brain wakes up.