Author Topic: Pecans -- Preparation & Recipes  (Read 6760 times)

Offline SC

• Guru
  • Ephesians 5:2
Pecans -- Preparation & Recipes
« on: December 17, 2007, 05:48:24 AM »
I have a question born out of desperation.  ::)
We were blessed with an abundance of unshelled pecans at our house.
A precious angel in work pants and suspenders wanted to know if we would like some, and I now have TWO washtubs full of unshelled pecans.

I don't have the latest gadget (as seen on TV). Previous to this, I would just get a hammer and work on them in my spare time. . . . BUT, time is short and the pecans are MANY. It's just me against the clock.

What's the most efficient way to shell and clean these things? What's your favorite method for a large amount? There are too many for me to be picking at every individual nut, but I don't want to bite down on forgotten shells later either. AND we just aren't going to purchase a special gadget.

So, help me out girls  :-* ;) :)
I'm no doctor . . .             I'm not even a Post hole Digger! ;)

Offline Jessarie

• Adept
Re: Pecans -- Preparation & Recipes
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2007, 06:17:20 AM »
Hi there!  This is coming from someone who can't remember the last time she cracked open a nut, BUT I was talking to a gentleman at our farmer's market a week ago who was selling unshelled walnuts in bulk and he said a lot of people drive over them with their cars to get a bunch cracked open at a time.  I don't know if it works with pecans.  I am going to a farm to pick up some things today and they sell unshelled pecans, so I'll see if they have any recommendations. 

Offline SC

• Guru
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2007, 06:24:07 AM »