Author Topic: Cheese Making: Recipes, Tips & Tricks  (Read 23709 times)

Offline LoveSunflowers

• Master
Re: Cheese Making: Recipes, Tips & Tricks
« Reply #60 on: January 20, 2008, 04:04:19 PM »
Here is the recipe I use for cottage cheese. It is super easy and always comes out yummy!
-Warm one gallon of skimmed raw milk to room temperature (About 72 degrees)

Do you know if it matters if the milk isn't skim?

I'm not one hundred percent positive but I believe it should be skim. I have raw milk and I skim it myself, which means, I always leave some cream behind.  ;) When my milk has turned into a solid curd, I can see the cream on top that I didn't get. This is what makes kind of nasty curds in the cheese. They are tough. Plus, when you add the cream it hasn't been heated and is really good for you. But, I am not a expert. I just started doing this and I play by the rules. ;)
It also might go differently if the milk has been homogenized. The cream might not come to the top of the curd. I don't know that for sure. I can ask my Aunt to see what she says.

Offline Mrs. B

• Master
« Reply #61 on: February 28, 2008, 02:02:31 PM »
I;m bumping this because I am sooooo irritated.... I just bought feta cheese and generally don't read ingredients as we buy minimally processed food as a rule from the grocery... well... I read the ingredients on my feta cheese and nataMYCIN is listed.... I did a search on it and this is what I found....
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Natamycin, also known as pimaricin, is a naturally occurring antimicrobial agent produced by the bacterium Streptomyces natalensis. It is a macrolide polyene antifungal drug used to treat fungal keratitis. It is especially effective against Aspergillus and Fusarium corneal infections.