Author Topic: UTI? During pregnancy  (Read 5914 times)

Offline Mrs. JDT

• Adept
UTI? During pregnancy
« on: July 10, 2006, 12:01:37 PM »
Hello. I am new to well tell me and I have a situation that I need some help with.
I am 29 weeks pregnant and have had symptoms of UTI since early June (when I was 24 weeks). I did a clean catch urine sample when I first had the symptoms and the results were negative for bacteria. I thought it might be a yeast infection, since I am VERY prone to them, and the burning and frequency of urination are the same as with a UTI. (I didn't do anything to treat the yeast as I was being lazy and the symptoms would come and go.) But I was still having the syptoms only a little worse last week so I went to my midwife again and did another clean catch sample and it came back negative. (I should add that the samples were not cultured because they came up negative for bateria, so they felt there was no need to culture them.So i don't know if that means I really could have a UTI but its just not showing up because no culture was done.???) But anyway, since I was still having the syptoms she prescribed a 10 day course of Macrobid just in case something was going on. My question is: Since the urine samples I gave came up negative for large amounts of bacteria (or bacteria that would cause them to do a culture on the sample), do I really need to take the antibiotic, or could this be just a really bad yeast infection? I don't want to let it go on too long if it is a UTI, because I heard it can cause preterm labor, but I DO NOT want to take antibiotics again if I don't have to.