† † † † † † †

Author Topic: Familial Hypercholesterolemia  (Read 1986 times)

Offline Mission Of Love

• Wide Eyed
Familial Hypercholesterolemia
« on: August 13, 2007, 07:38:49 AM »
Hello ladies (gents if there are any),

This is my first time posting on this site. It was referred by a friend of mine. I have a very interesting topic that I would like anyone's opinion (and especially knowledge) on.

I have a condition called familial hypercholesterolemia. My body makes too much LDL (bad cholesterol) and not enough HDL (good cholesterol. If I do not take statins, my cholesterol is in the 500's.  :o  Statins were good news for my family when I found out, as my grandfather and my uncle died at 40 from this hereditary condition. Now I'm finding out how dangerous statins are, but I have no choice. My body cannot function properly on it's own.

Does anyone have any wisdom on natural remedies to cholesterol that won't harm my body yet be potent enough to lower my LDL's and raise my HDL's? ???

Thanks!
Mission of Love in Utah ><>

Offline BJ_BOBBI_JO

• Guru
  • I SEE YOU
    • BJ_BOBBI_JO blog
Re: Familial Hypercholesterolemia
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2007, 07:54:44 AM »
I have never been DX with that but high cholesterol runs very much in my family. I cant not take those stain drugs because of their awful side affects. They make me very weak, lethargic, fatigued, and more. I can not function while taking them so I went cold turkey off of them.

My cholesterol at its known highest was  somewhere around 250( I forget the exact number). I started eating lots of raw avocados daily. Like 2-3 a day/ They are good with ranch dressing or garlic and many other ways or just plain.

From what I have learned avocados are packed full of the good cholesterol  that helps fight off the bad cholesterol.

When I went back just a few months later my cholesterol had dropped from that 250ish down to 170ish without drugs all because of the avocados.