Author Topic: Favorite Cleaning Tips and Tricks Ever!  (Read 56581 times)

Offline SC

• Guru
  • Ephesians 5:2
Re: Favorite Cleaning Tips and Tricks Ever!
« Reply #60 on: February 01, 2007, 03:50:56 PM »
Does anyone have suggestions for an old, white, countertop?  It has brown stains from my wet cast iron pots.  I have tried BS, vinegar, method all-purpose cleaner.  Anything to get stubborn stains that have been on there for months?

I would be tempted to try a baking soda/salt mixture and then full strength white distilled vinegar. It will have a fizzing action that can actually unclog a sluggish drain. Wonder if it will also remove those stains? I'm also wondering about hydrogen peroxide.
I'm no doctor . . .             I'm not even a Post hole Digger! ;)

Offline healthyinOhio

• Guru
  • Happily Married for 12 years and proud mama of 2.
« Reply #61 on: February 01, 2007, 03:58:25 PM »
Have you tried bleach? 

DUH, no.  I don't have any.  I hate the smell of it, but I suppose it would be worth a shot. 

I would be tempted to try a baking soda/salt mixture and then full strength white distilled vinegar. It will have a fizzing action that can actually unclog a sluggish drain. Wonder if it will also remove those stains? I'm also wondering about hydrogen peroxide.

Okay, I just made a paste of baking soda and salt and mixed with a little peroxide.  Nothing.   :-\ So, I added some vinegar on it.....fizzed....I scrubbed....I think it looks a little bit lighter.  ??

We read a book this week with the kids on all the wondeful uses for pee.  So, I am seriously thinking about urinating on it at this point!!  :D

Offline SC

• Guru
  • Ephesians 5:2
« Reply #62 on: February 01, 2007, 04:17:09 PM »
We read a book this week with the kids on all the wondeful uses for pee.  So, I am seriously thinking about urinating on it at this point!!  :D

Okay, Hio, I love you and all, but we just are NOT going to have lunch at your house! :o